Home / Uncategorized / Heres the complete read order for the Baki manga series

Heres the complete read order for the Baki manga series

The Baki the Grappler anime has a spotty history when it comes to anime and the story behind its manga is even more difficult to get straight. Because of that the read order for the Baki manga can leave fans scratching their heads Baki the Grappler first landed in the west in 2002 eight years after its initial release in Japan. The series was licensed for release by Gutsoon! Entertainment but the company went defunct not long after licensing the series. Just 46 of the more than 350 chapters of Baki the Grappler were translated by the company prior to its closure.

Since then the entire franchise has largely been left in limbo. Fans have taken it upon themselves to translate the series even though publishers should theoretically be scrambling to get the rights to the manga behind the popular anime series from Netflix. For the most part these unofficial translations are the only ways to read the bulk of the Baki manga. But what order should you read the various Baki series in? And what happens in each book?

Baki manga read order
As of this writing there are five Baki manga series with a long list of spinoffs. The five Baki manga series are all direct sequels to one another with some picking up just days after the conclusion of the prior series. Here is the order you should read the Baki manga series in.

1. Baki the Grappler 1991

The original Baki the Grappler series started 30 years ago in an underwhelming fashion. Though the franchise is iconic at this point the series started out somewhat derivative of other popular manga and anime of the time. Its art style was heavily inspired by major manga releases of the 1980s and leaned on homages to reallife combat athletes. Most notably the Baki Hanma character was a generic peppy protagonist rather than the calm and intimidating figure fans are familiar with today. An extended flashback effectively fixed these issues completely reinventing the character and darkening the tone of the series. There are three arcs to the Baki the Grappler manga. It starts with the Underground Arena Arc which is followed by the Kid Baki Arc before wrapping with the Maximum Tournament. The manga was adapted into an anime of the same name in 2001.

About dawood Asghar

Check Also

Only David Levy could be trusted to bring The Addams Family to TV

If there’s one person history often forgets to thank for the enduring legacy of The …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.